Key information
Duration
- Full-time: 36 months
- Part-time: 72 months
Start dates & application deadlines
- Starting October 2026 — Application deadline not specified.
- Starting January 2027 — Apply before Nov 2026
- Starting April 2027 — Application deadline not specified.
Language
English
English language admission requirements
- TOEFL iBT: 90
- PTE Academic: 59
- IELTS: 6.5
Delivered
On Campus
Campus Location
London, United Kingdom
Disciplines
Anthropology
Visit programme website
Overview
Brunel University of London's Anthropology PhD is a team of internationally recognised researchers, producing ground-breaking work rooted in ethnographic fieldwork spanning Africa, Asia, Europe and Oceania.
Key Facts
- Academic staff, post-doctoral researchers and PhD Anthropology students at Brunel University of London alike work within a single Social Anthropology research grouping, designed both to capitalise on our historic strengths—in the anthropologies of global health; childhood and youth; histories and concepts of anthropological knowledge; and performance, politics and violence—as well as enabling a proactive embrace of new global challenges.
- The latter includes exciting new work that engages with international environmental crises, human-animal relations, and contemporary imaginings of the future.
Visit the programme website for more information
Programme Structure
Courses include:
- Arts Health and Social Change
- Social Justice
- Anthropological Research on Childhood Youth and Education
- Culture and Evolution
- International Medical Anthropology
Visit programme website
Admission requirements
Academic requirements
- GPA: Upper Second Class, First Class (recommended)
English requirements
- TOEFL iBT: 90
- PTE Academic: 59
- IELTS: 6.5
Other requirements
- The general University entrance requirement for registration for a research degree is normally a First or Upper Second Class Honours degree (1st or 2:1).
- If you require a Tier 4 visa to study in the UK, you must prove knowledge of the English language so that we can issue you a Certificate of Acceptance for Study (CAS). To do this, you will need an IELTS for UKVI or Trinity SELT test pass gained from a test centre approved by UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) and on the Secure English Language Testing (SELT) list
Fees and funding
Tuition Fees
Tuition fees are shown in AUD and the most likely applicable fee is shown based on your nationality.
International
Non-residents: 38,857 AUD / year (≈ 20,400 GBP / year)
Domestic
Citizens or residents: 9,977 AUD / year (≈ 5,238 GBP / year)
Additional Details
- Tuition for international: £10,200 part-time
- Tuition for UK: £2,619 part-time
Living costs
London, United Kingdom: 2,166-4,109 AUD / month