Key information
Duration
- Full-time: 36 months
- Part-time: 72 months
Start dates & application deadlines
- Starting October 2026. Application deadline not specified.
- Starting January 2027. Application deadline not specified.
- Starting April 2027. Application deadline not specified.
Language
English
Delivered
On Campus
Campus Location
London, United Kingdom
Disciplines
Language Studies
Overview
At Brunel University of London, we have a thriving graduate community, and welcome English PhD applications in any of our particular areas of strength, which include modern and contemporary literature, Shakespeare, Renaissance studies, Victorian literature and culture, and world literature in English.
Key facts
- We have some of Britain’s most celebrated, talented, original, and experienced writers actively publishing in the industry today, including Banjamin Zephaniah, Will Self, Bernardine Evaristo, Christopher Fox, Geoff King, Fiona Templeton and many more, having published over 80 powerfully diverse books between them and written for all the national newspapers.
Visit the programme website for more information
Programme Structure
Curriculum
- The Reformation in print
- Fantasy writing of the 19th and 20th centuries
- Mass-Observation and Everyday Life
- Working-class and proletarian writing
- Modernist and postwar women's writing
- Transnational modernist studies
Visit programme website
Admission requirements
Academic requirements
GPA: Upper Second Class
English requirements
- TOEFL iBT: 98 (or 5 on the new TOEFL iBT 1-6 score, CEFR-aligned)
- PTE Academic: 64
- IELTS: 6.5
Other requirements
General requirements
- The general University entrance requirement for registration for a research degree is normally a First or Upper Second Class Honours degree (1st or 2:1).
- If you require a Tier 4 visa to study in the UK, you must prove knowledge of the English language so that we can issue you a Certificate of Acceptance for Study (CAS). To do this, you will need an IELTS for UKVI or Trinity SELT test pass gained from a test centre approved by UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) and on the Secure English Language Testing (SELT) list. This must have been taken and passed within two years from the date the CAS is made.
Fees and funding
Tuition Fees
Tuition fees are shown in AUD and the most likely applicable fee is shown based on your nationality.
- International: 38,857 AUD / year (≈ 20,400 GBP / year)
- Domestic: 9,977 AUD / year (≈ 5,238 GBP / year)
Additional Details
- Tuition for international: £11,160 part-time
- Tuition for UK: £2,619 part-time
Living costs
London, United Kingdom: 2,166-4,109 AUD / month
Scholarships
Below you will find PhD's scholarship opportunities for English.