Key information
Duration
- Full-time
- 24 months
Start dates & application deadlines
- Starting July 2027
- Apply before May 2027
Language
English
- TOEFL iBT accepted by more than 13,000 universities and other institutions in over 160 countries. The test can be taken at a test center or at home. The test measures your English-language abilities in an academic setting. The score refers to the total score of 4 subjects (writing, listening, speaking, and reading), each subject has a range of 0 - 30.
OR 83
Credits
360 alternative credits
Delivered
On Campus
Campus Location
- Pretoria, South Africa
Disciplines
Medicine
Overview
About the programme
The Faculty of Health Sciences continues to exemplify and build on the University of Pretoria's vision of being a leading research-intensive university in Africa: it is recognised internationally for its quality, relevance and impact, as well as for creating knowledge, developing people and making a difference locally and globally.
The Faculty's research output has grown, in response to the need for research that is relevant to the improvement of health and health care and advancing medicine in South Africa, Africa and globally. This Obstetrics and Gynaecology programme is offered at the University of Pretoria.
Programme Structure
Structure:
- A doctoral study is assessed on the basis of a doctoral thesis in the traditional format or in the form of a collection of published works, creative works and/or other scholarly contributions (articles and essays etc.).
- Oral defense: The faculty regulations may determine that an oral defense should form part of the academic requirements for the qualification.
- A professional doctorate is assessed on the outcome of the research component as well as the required coursework modules in accordance with the approved faculty regulations.
Admission requirements
Academic requirements
We are not aware of any specific GRE, GMAT or GPA grading score requirements for this programme.
English requirements
TOEFL iBT accepted by more than 13,000 universities and other institutions in over 160 countries. The test can be taken at a test center or at home. The test measures your English-language abilities in an academic setting. The score refers to the total score of 4 subjects (writing, listening, speaking, and reading), each subject has a range of 0 - 30. OR 83
Other requirements
Admission Requirements:
- MBChB (or equivalent) degree or relevant master's degree.
- Online application (fill in first and second choice) and application fee
Tuition Fees
Tuition fees are shown in AUD and the most likely applicable fee is shown based on your nationality.
- International (International tuition fees apply to students who are not citizens or permanent residents of the study country. In some regions, like the EU/EEA, or under certain agreements, students from partner countries may also pay domestic fees.) Non-residents: 2,316 AUD / year (approx. 26,475 ZAR / year)
- Domestic (Tuition fee for the domestic students.) Citizens or residents: 2,316 AUD / year (approx. 26,475 ZAR / year)
Additional Details: Non-SADC students: added international fee of R4,725
Living costs
Pretoria, South Africa
752-902 AUD / month
The living costs include the total expenses per month, covering accommodation, public transportation, utilities (electricity, internet), books and groceries.
Funding
Available Scholarships
You are eligible to apply for these scholarships but a selection process will still be applied by the provider.
- The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships — Independent provider, Grant: Various benefits, Deadline: 03 Jun 2027, The Association of Commonwealth Universities
- ServiceScape Scholarship — Independent provider, Grant: 1000 USD, Deadline: 30 Nov 2026, ServiceScape
- ACES Scholarships — Independent provider, Grant: 3500 USD, Deadline: 15 Nov 2026, ACES Education Fund
- Erasmus+ - Grants for study mobility — Independent provider, Grant: Various benefits, Deadline: Not specified, Merit-based, OeAD, Austria's Agency for Education and Internationalisation
- $1,500 Annual Video Contest Scholarship — Independent provider, Grant: 1000 USD, Deadline: 31 Oct 2026, Merit-based, IvyPanda
- Voice Talent Online Scholarship — Independent provider, Grant: 1000 USD, Deadline: 01 Mar 2027, Voice Talent Online
- Dream Chaser Scholarship — Independent provider, Grant: 1000 USD, Deadline: 13 Jan 2027, Merit-based, Salvado Law
- Scholarship for students with disabilities — Independent provider, Grant: 3000 USD, Deadline: 31 Dec 2026, Need-based, Anonymous Hope Fund
- Grants of the Leopold Figl Foundation for students with residence in Lower Austria — Independent provider, Grant: Various benefits, Deadline: 31 Dec 2026, Need-based, Leopold Figl Foundation
- The Annual IELTS from 6 to 9 Scholarship — Independent provider, Grant: 1500 USD, Deadline: Not specified, IELTS from 6 to 9
- Tobacco Harm Reduction Scholarship Programme — Independent provider, Grant: 12000 USD, Deadline: 11 Jan 2027, The Tobacco Harm Reduction Scholarship Programme
- “The Hope For Healing” Scholarship — Independent provider, Grant: 5000 USD, Deadline: Not specified, FHE Health

