Key information
Duration:
- Full-time: 36 months
- Part-time: 72 months
Start dates & application deadlines:
- Starting October 2026 (application deadline not specified)
- Starting January 2027 (application deadline not specified)
- Starting April 2027 (application deadline not specified)
Language: English
Delivered: On Campus
Campus Location: London, United Kingdom
Disciplines: Mathematics
Overview
Our Mathematics research at Brunel University of London also focuses on random matrix theory, quantum information theory, mathematical foundations of quantum mechanics, mesoscopic disordered systems, statistical mechanics, graph theory, matroid theory, and infinite-dimensional Riemannian geometry, algebraic geometry and orthogonal polynomials.
Key facts
- There is a strong emphasis on the development of innovative analytic, asymptotic, computational and hybrid methods.
- We address problems of real biological or engineering importance and investigate the underlying mathematical and phenomenological processes.
Programme Structure
Curriculum:
- Mathematical and Statistical Modelling
- Statistics and Data Science
- Financial Mathematics and Operational Research
- Mathematical Physics and Applied Mathematics
- Applied and Numerical Analysis
Admission requirements
Academic requirements
GPA: Upper Second Class
English requirements
- TOEFL iBT: accepted. The score refers to the total score of 4 subjects (writing, listening, speaking, and reading); each subject has a range of 0 – 30.
- PTE Academic: 59. The score ranges between 10 and 90.
- IELTS: 6.5. The score refers to the combined average score of 4 subjects (writing, listening, speaking, and reading), on a scale of 1 – 9.
Other requirements
- The general University entrance requirement for registration for a research degree is normally a First or Upper Second Class Honours degree (1st or 2:1).
- If you require a Tier 4 visa to study in the UK, you must prove knowledge of the English language so that we can issue you a Certificate of Acceptance for Study (CAS). To do this, you will need an IELTS for UKVI or Trinity SELT test pass gained from a test centre approved by UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) and on the Secure English Language Testing (SELT) list.
Fees and funding
Tuition Fees
Tuition fees are shown in AUD and the most likely applicable fee is shown based on your nationality.
- International: 46,665 AUD / year (≈ 24,795 GBP / year)
- Domestic: 9,858 AUD / year (≈ 5,238 GBP / year)
Part-time tuition: International £12,395; UK £2,619.
Living costs
London, United Kingdom: 2,140–4,060 AUD / month. The living costs include total expenses per month, covering accommodation, public transportation, utilities (electricity, internet), books and groceries.