Key Information
Duration: Full-time 36 months; Part-time 72 months
Start dates & application deadlines:
- Starting October 2026 (Application deadline not specified)
- Starting January 2027 (Application deadline not specified)
- Starting April 2027 (Application deadline not specified)
Language: English
Delivered: On Campus
Campus Location: London, United Kingdom
Overview
Key facts
Considering the expertise and track record of both Brunel University of London and NSIRC-based staff, the following areas have been identified as the main research strengths within the wider field of Structural Integrity:
- Dynamic response of materials and structures (modelling, experimental characterisation and design/optimisation for composites and metals);
- Structural health monitoring based on ultrasound wave propagation and acoustic emissions in solids (modelling, experimental validation, signal processing and sensors);
- Steel, concrete and hybrid structures (material design, manufacturing, modelling and experimental characterisation);
Visit the programme website for more information
Programme Structure
Curriculum:
- Metallic and polymeric materials analysis and characterisation equipment
- Advanced testing equipment to measure fracture, fatigue, creep and corrosion performance
- High-pressure testing equipment for large scale tests in pipes and vessels
- Equipment for testing in H2S, CO2 and other aggressive environments
- Re-configurable, large scale facilities for specialised component/structure testing
Visit programme website
Admission requirements
Academic requirements
GPA: Upper Second Class
English requirements
- TOEFL iBT: 90 (or 5 on the new CEFR-aligned scale)
- PTE Academic: 59
- IELTS: 6.5
Other requirements
General requirements:
- The general University entrance requirement for registration for a research degree is normally a First or Upper Second Class Honours degree (1st or 2:1).
- Should you wish to take a pre-sessional English course to improve your English prior to starting your degree course, you must sit the test at an approved SELT provider for the same reason. We offer our own BrunELT English test and have pre-sessional English language courses for students who do not meet requirements or who wish to improve their English.
Visit programme website
Fees and funding
Tuition Fees
International: 47,228 AUD / year (≈ 24,795 GBP / year)
Domestic: 9,977 AUD / year (≈ 5,238 GBP / year)
Additional Details:
- Tuition for international: £12,395 part-time
- Tuition for UK: £2,619 part-time
Living costs
London, United Kingdom: 2,166-4,109 AUD / month