Key information
Duration
- Full-time
- 36 months
- 3–4 years
- Part-time
- 72 months
- 6–8 years
Start dates & application deadlines
- Starting October 2026
Application deadline not specified.
Language
English
TOEFL iBT: 87
Delivered
On Campus
Campus Location
- Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Disciplines
Energy Engineering
Overview
About the programme
Smart Energy Systems smartness will allow for time-shifting of electricity demand and in the future will better incorporate electricity and other energy storage systems.
In this way a smart and renewables-based electricity system promises to deliver low-carbon electricity. What, however, will these changes imply for electricity system reliability? How will society adjust to, and accept these new realities? How will these innovations roll out around the world and what are the prospects for development and deployment in less developed countries? Such questions are of concern to researchers at The Open University UK.
Programme Structure
Research:
- The Open University is concerned with electricity futures at a range of system sizes and time scales.
- We have researched electricity futures on island systems over time periods of decades and grid stability in large systems over timescales of minutes.
- We have considered systems as large as continents and electricity management in individual homes.
Admission requirements
Academic requirements
- GPA: Upper Second Class
English requirements
TOEFL iBT: 87
Other requirements
General requirements
Entry requirements:
- Minimum 2:1 undergraduate degree in a technical discipline (previously, students have been sought with a mathematical or an electrical power system engineering background).
- If you are not a UK citizen, you may need to prove your knowledge of English.
Tuition Fees
Tuition fees are shown in AUD and the most likely applicable fee is shown based on your nationality.
- International — Non-residents: 23,987 AUD / year (≈ 12,705 GBP / year)
- Domestic — Citizens or residents: 9,451 AUD / year (≈ 5,006 GBP / year)
Living costs
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1,601–2,539 AUD / month
The living costs include the total expenses per month, covering accommodation, public transportation, utilities (electricity, internet), books and groceries.
Scholarships
Below you will find PhD's scholarship opportunities for Smart Energy Systems.
Available Scholarships
You are eligible to apply for these scholarships but a selection process will still be applied by the provider.
- Fulbright U.S. Student Program — Grant: Various benefits, Deadline: 07 Oct 2026 (U.S. government)
- ServiceScape Scholarship — Grant: 1000 USD, Deadline: 30 Nov 2026 (ServiceScape)
- ACES Scholarships — Grant: 3500 USD, Deadline: 15 Nov 2026 (ACES Education Fund)
- Erasmus+ - Grants for study mobility — Grant: Various benefits, Deadline: Not specified, Merit-based (OeAD, Austria's Agency for Education and Internationalisation)
- Scholarships for PhD Students — Grant: 19000 GBP, Deadline: Not specified, Merit-based (Junhua Li)
- Boustany Astronomy PhD Scholarship — Grant: Various benefits, Deadline: 28 Feb 2027, Merit-based (Boustany Foundation)
- Amberscholar Scholarship — Grant: 6000 USD, Deadline: 31 Jan 2027, Merit-based (Amber Scholar)
- Voice Talent Online Scholarship — Grant: 1000 USD, Deadline: 01 Mar 2027 (Voice Talent Online)
- $1,500 Annual Video Contest Scholarship — Grant: 1000 USD, Deadline: 31 Oct 2026, Merit-based (IvyPanda)
- Dream Chaser Scholarship — Grant: 1000 USD, Deadline: 13 Jan 2027, Merit-based (Salvado Law)
- Commonwealth Shared Scholarship – University Bids — Grant: 22500 GBP, Deadline: Not specified (UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO))
- Scholarship for students with disabilities — Grant: 3000 USD, Deadline: 31 Dec 2026, Need-based (Anonymous Hope Fund)
- The Annual IELTS from 6 to 9 Scholarship — Grant: 1500 USD, Deadline: Not specified (IELTS from 6 to 9)
- Tobacco Harm Reduction Scholarship Programme — Grant: 12000 USD, Deadline: 11 Jan 2027 (The Tobacco Harm Reduction Scholarship Programme)

